One step closer to adoption…!

On Saturday I took Josie to the Des Moines Pet Festival to hang out at with our rescue at the adoption booth. A couple interested in Josie were driving all the way up from Oregon to meet her, so I was pretty excited about this event. I had spoken to the potential adopters via email and knew they were very interested in her, but I was a bit nervous about the meet and greet. Would they like her as much in person? Would Josie steal their hearts they way she has completely stolen ours? I’m happy to say, the answer to both questions is YES! Josie was definitely a bit distracted with all the interesting sights, smells and sounds at the festival, so she wasn’t nearly as focused or affectionate as she usually is, but Jeff and Emily got to take her for a good long walk to “test drive” her, and they are interested in moving toward a possible adoption.

Next steps are setting up a home check, followed by a week-long trial run.  Since they live so far away, I will probably end up driving to Oregon to check out their home, and assuming everything checks out (which I’m sure it will), I’ll leave Josie behind at that time. If all goes well with the trial, we’ll probably meet halfway a week later to officially sign the paperwork. It’s bittersweet. I will be sad to let her go, but three dogs is really a lot to handle and I am looking forward to being able to devote more time to my own two dogs, who have taken a bit of a backseat to the attention-stealing foster puppy! It’s also comforting to know Josie would be going to such a great home. I know I’ll miss her terribly, but this experience has truly been one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done.

1 Comment

Filed under Josie, Rescue

One response to “One step closer to adoption…!

  1. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Betty

    http://smallpet.info

Leave a comment